Warm Southern Breeze

"… there is no such thing as nothing."

Warnock and Ossoff Defeat Loeffler and Perdue To Win Georgia’s U.S.Senate Race

Posted by Warm Southern Breeze on Thursday, January 7, 2021

The two Democrats challenging Georgia’s incumbent Republican Senators, David Perdue, and the appointed Kelly Loeffler, have won.

A full 100% of Georgia’s 2652 precincts have reported, and their votes tallied.

Georgia’s Republican Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger has certified the results.

The Reverend Doctor Raphael Warnock, pastor of Atlanta’s famed Ebenezer Baptist Church, the spiritual home of the late Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr., has been declared the winner in his race against Kelly Loeffler, with 50.84%, or 2,259,769 votes, to 49.16%, or 2,185,063 votes, for Kelly Loeffler. Loeffler was temporarily appointed by Georgia’s Republican Governor Brian Kemp to fill the unexpired term of Republican Johnny Isakson, who announced his retirement effective 31 December 2019 to care for his health following a diagnosis of Parkinson’s Disease. The Reverend Doctor Warnock has made history by being only the 11th Black person to have been elected to the United States Senate.

In the other Senate race, Jon Ossoff has been declared victorious over incumbent David Perdue with 50.41%, or 2,240,822 votes, to 49.59%, or 2,203,958 votes for Perdue. Aged 33 years, Mr. Offoff will become the youngest United States Senator ever elected.

Jon Ossoff LEFT and Rev. Dr. Raphael Warnock RIGHT in a joint campaign event.

The balance of power in the Senate is now changed, with 50 seats for each of the two major political parties, and the Vice President (Kamala Harris, a Democrat) will cast any tie-breaking votes.

Kentucky Republican Mitch McConnell will no longer be the Senate Majority Leader, and instead, will become the Senate Minority Leader.

Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer of New York will become the new Senate Majority Leader.

The changes will effectively occur at high noon, Eastern Standard Time, on Inauguration Day, January 20, 2021 as President-elect Joe Biden, and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris take their Constitutional Oaths of Office.

Previously, the Democrats retained power in the House, and California Democratic Representative Nancy Pelosi who represents the state’s 12th Congressional District was elected Speaker of the House for a 4th term, which is her second, second consecutive term in that office. She was elected as Speaker of the House for the 110th, and 111th Congress from January 4, 2007 – January 3, 2009, and January 6, 2009 – January 3, 2011, respectively, and then again in the 116th, and now the 117th Congress, in January 3, 2019 – January 3, 2021, and January 3, 2021 – Present, respectively. She is, to date, the only woman to have held that office, thus making her accomplishments in that office unprecedented.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: