Warm Southern Breeze

"… there is no such thing as nothing."

Attorney, Entrepreneur, Banker Donald V. Watkins Offers POTUS Trump Advice

Posted by Warm Southern Breeze on Monday, March 27, 2017

Donald V. Watkins is an American Attorney, Entrepreneur, and Banker.

Donald V. Watkins is an American Attorney, Entrepreneur and Banker.

–––//–––

March 26, 2017

Open Letter to President Donald J. Trump

Dear President Trump,

I am a longtime political independent who cherishes America’s form of participatory democracy. Even though my ancestors were slaves who worked on plantations in Mississippi, my parents, siblings and other relatives finally got a chance to vote after Congress enacted the Voting Rights Act in 1965 and President Lyndon Johnson signed it. I have even held elective office within this democracy.

I believed in America when I could not drink from public water fountains or use bathrooms that were reserved for “Whites Only”. I did not sit in an integrated classroom until I entered college at Southern Illinois University in 1966. I attended law school at the University of Alabama from 1970 to 1973 on a desegregation scholarship awarded to me by the national office of the NAACP. I arrived on campus a full year before any black athlete played on a sports team at the University.

Donald Trump, 45th United States President, official portrait

When I started practicing law in 1973, a few diehard segregationists in Alabama’s court system openly referred to me as the “nigger lawyer from Montgomery” during official court proceedings. I was not addressed as “Attorney Watkins” or “Mr. Watkins” in these courtrooms until sometime in 1976. A few judges just barked out instruction to me without ever looking me in the eyes or addressing me as a human being.

I got through all of these degrading experiences by focusing on the American flag in each courtroom I entered. To me, the flag served as a symbol of strength and a silent reminder that America was my country too.

Like you, I took an oath to serve America and the flag. In the 44 years since I took my oath as an officer of the court, I have watched U.S. Presidents come and go. You are on deck now and I am still here serving the flag. My job is to protect America from domestic enemies like the segregationists I experienced growing up in the South and the ones who mistreated me in the courtroom during the early years of my Alabama law practice.

I did not vote for you in the 2016 general election. Regardless, I do not question the legitimacy of your Electoral College victory. It was impressive. You won the American Presidency. You are now President of all of the people.

I am deeply disappointed by your conduct as President since taking office. I have personal friends who are working in your administration. While I disagree with many of their political beliefs, I respect their decision to serve our nation by working in your administration.

I want to help you become a better person and a successful president. I know and work with business men/women who are far richer than you. All of them are respectful and gracious to their fellow human beings. None of them degrades or disrespects those who question their business or political affairs.

Legendary Alabama football coach Paul “Bear” Bryant always said, “it don’t cost nothin’ to be nice”. He was right. Heed Coach Bryant’s advice. Show the world some class and character. Wealth, alone, is not and has never been an adequate substitute for class and character.

Show more respect for the presidency and yourself. Please stop lying on other people. Stop your juvenile Twitter rants and insults. Concentrate on reading intelligence briefings and economic reports. Your White House staff members are afraid to say this to you because they need their jobs. So many powerful people have threatened me during my legal career that it no longer fazes me. I believe that constructive criticism is the most sincere form of loyalty.

Every world leader who has tried to rise in stature by standing on the necks of their countrymen/women eventually failed in his/her reign. Unless you want to join the list of failed leaders in the dustbin of history, you should stop denigrating Muslims, “illegal immigrants”, African-Americans, gay and lesbian Americans, handicapped Americans, the poor, and others whose lives have rarely intersected with your privileged life.

You also need to curb your admiration and affection for Russian President Vladimir Putin. He is a known murderer. He is not a friend of the American people. The FBI is investigating Putin’s interference with the 2016 presidential election. Putin does not like or respect you. In fact, he has neutered you by appealing to your oversized ego.

On Friday night, I heard you proclaim your intention to move on from your campaign promise to repeal and replace Obamacare. If you decide to resurrect this legislative initiative, I suggest that you and the members of Congress who supported your effort to purge 24 million Americans from the healthcare rolls give up your personal healthcare insurance until you can bring the victims of your purge back into the insurance fold. I call this principle “mutuality of sacrifice” and “leading by example”. Great leaders embrace this principle. Those who do not are hypocrites.

I do not spend much time on Twitter, but I regularly post on Facebook. If you cannot sleep at night and want to respond to this open letter, please send me a “Friend Request” on Facebook. I have a very large and diverse Facebook friendship community. I will be happy to post your response.

Thank you, Mr. President!

Donald V. Watkins

Leave a Reply

 
