Warm Southern Breeze

"… there is no such thing as nothing."

Give To Those Who Ask

Posted by Warm Southern Breeze on Monday, September 12, 2016

Some time ago, I had a change of heart on a rather simple matter,

and which was one of faith.

Since the summer of ’93 I had heard that it would be okay to NOT give to those who ask, since “they were probably going to buy drugs or booze with it anyway.”

Years later, I re-read Christ’s saying which is recorded in Matthew’s gospel as “Give to those who ask…”, and is rendered in the Gospel according to Luke as “Give to everyone who asks you…”

As I studied it, Christ didn’t say “unless they’re going to buy drugs or booze,” or anything remotely like that.

No, the first word He said was “Give.”

The economy of Heaven from the Chief Giver, is based upon Heaven’s Gift to us. Jesus the Christ also said that “it is more blessed to give, than to receive.”

So, from the time that simple truth of giving became indelible in my heart, forward, I have always given when asked. Always.

Most recently, while I was leaving a grocery store about to step into my vehicle, a young man approached, and about 10 feet from me, asked if he could have a dollar.

“Sure,” I replied.

So, I looked in the bills I had. There was nothing smaller than a $20, and there were several. So, I pulled one out and as I handed the bill – which was folded in half – to him, said “here you go.”

Not looking at the bill, he looked me in the eye and thanked me.

As he walked off he looked at what he had.

You should’ve seen the smile on his face, and his expression!

I think that made his day.

Leave a Reply

 
