Warm Southern Breeze

"… there is no such thing as nothing."

“Do you believe in God?”

Posted by Warm Southern Breeze on Sunday, September 12, 2010

“Do you believe in God?,” she looked at me and inquired innocently.

“Yes I do,” I replied, looking into her eyes.

“So do I,” she responded boldly.

That question was put to me a young child, under age 12. Her statement also brought to mind the words of Christ as recorded in John’s Gospel, chapter 14, verse one, “Do not let your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

Earlier, my new friend – the girl’s father – jestingly announced to those present at the cookout that “Don’t y’all be doing any damn cussing or shit like that around him, ’cause he goes to church.”

And that I do.

I do attend Mass. I make effort to attend regularly.

One thing, however, I am not perfect. I am a sinner. I attend a “hospital for sinners,” and it’s called “church.”

I don’t make any snobbish boast of my faith, per se, but rather live it in a rather matter-of-fact fashion. I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

I don’t have all the answers, either.

The thing I think about religion, and how it applies to me and my life, is that the message of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit of God, and my faith and understanding are changing me. It is changing me to be a gentle man, a kind man, compassionate man, a loving and tender man. It’s not that I wasn’t those things beforehand, but that the “dross” of my life – the selfishness, the anger, the impatience, the bitterness, the clamor, etc., – is being removed bit by bit, day by day.

Bear in mind also, that the process of removing the sludge of one’s life isn’t always easy, nor is it pain-free.

Some feel they don’t need religion, and perhaps they don’t. I however, do. For I am a weak man – and as the childrens’ song says, “Little ones to Him belong, we are weak, but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me, yes Jesus loves me, yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.”

One Response to ““Do you believe in God?””

  1. Anthony said

    Regarding the process of spiritual growth and transformation, the thing that is hard for me to discern is related to the question, “What is normal growth and maturity, and what is the kind of change that results from living a life of faith?” It comes down to the distinction between the natural and the supernatural. On the one hand, all people, regardless of faith, will grow and mature in some degree, in the normal, ala natural course of things. By contrast, Christians, by virtue of faith, have access to resources beyond the natural, that is supposed to allow them to obtain higher levels of development and maturity. The reason this is an issue for me is that I don’t feel particularly mature, nor do I see clear signs of it in my life. In many ways I am the same old anxious, at times angry and lustful man I was in my youth. On the other hand, there has been maturity, and perhaps a good (I hope) acceptance of my shortcomings, which ironically ameliorates the above weaknesses of character. Perhaps the central question for me is, “What does genuine Gospel transformation look like in this age between the ages?”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,096 other followers

